Carolina Chocolate Drops' Rhiannon Giddens announces solo album | Music
INDY Week's music blog

Archives | RSS

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Carolina Chocolate Drops' Rhiannon Giddens announces solo album

Posted by on Wed, Nov 19, 2014 at 2:45 PM

click to enlarge unnamed.jpg
"The whole idea is to remind people that there's just more to the story of American music. That's what we've done from the beginning with the [Carolina Chocolate] Drops," Rhiannon Giddens told INDY Week this spring, talking then about a performance with the North Carolina Symphony.

These days, she’s the leader and lone original member of the Durham-based Drops, perhaps the best known black string band in existence. Past members—Dom Flemons, Justin Robinson, Leyla McCalla—have subsequently released records that further the collective’s excavation of forgotten American sounds. The breadth of their work demonstrates the links that connect blues and bluegrass, hip-hop and country, jazz and rock, all of them shaped in large part by talented black hands.

Come next year, Giddens takes her own well-deserved turn in the spotlight. On February 10, Nonesuch Records releases Tomorrow Is My Turn, the singer’s solo debut. Produced by the revered T Bone Burnett—who’s worked with luminaries like Roy Orbison, Elvis Costello, Robert Plant and Alison Krauss, in addition to spearheading soundtracks for movies such as Walk the Line and O Brother, Where Art Thou?—the record throws Giddens’ warm warble at songs made famous by artists as diverse Patsy Cline and Nina Simone, who sang the tune that gives the collection its title.

More than any member of the extended Drops family, Giddens excels at drawing varied styles into her own singular aesthetic—not so much normalizing them as highlighting similarities that were already present. The first two cuts available from Tomorrow put this talent in sharp relief. Tackling the Dolly Parton break-up tune “Don’t Let It Trouble Your Mind,” her voice is bright and carefree, finding newfound freedom where Dolly found loneliness. With Elizabeth Cotten’s “Shake Sugaree,” she takes a similar approach, turning the Carrboro-born blues and folk singer’s understated hymn into a confident declaration.

Both of Giddens’ renditions glide gracefully, smoothed by earnest pedal steel and pricked by playful fiddle. They benefit from a backing ensemble that included members of Punch Brothers and a team of studio veterans. Sounding at once modern and timeless, the style should prove a fitting backdrop for Giddens’ far-reaching selections.

Tomorrow Is My Turn:
1. Last Kind Words (Geeshie Wiley, arr. Rhiannon Giddens)
2. Don't Let It Trouble Your Mind (Dolly Parton)
3. Waterboy (Jacques Wolfe)
4. She's Got You (Hank Cochran)
5. Up Above My Head (Sister Rosetta Tharpe)
6. Tomorrow Is My Turn (Charles Aznavour/Marcel Stellman/Yves Stéphane)
7. Black Is the Color (Traditional, arr. Rhiannon Giddens)
8. Round About the Mountain (Traditional, arr. Roland Hayes)
9. Shake Sugaree (Elizabeth Cotten)
10. O Love Is Teasin' (Traditional, arr. Rhiannon Giddens)
11. Angel City (Rhiannon Giddens)

Tags: , ,

Pin It


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in Music

Twitter Activity


nice article .
tanks for post …

by نیلوفر محمدی on New ReverbNation initiative Music For Good helps bands direct money to charity (Music)

Most Read

Most Recent Comments

nice article .
tanks for post …

by نیلوفر محمدی on New ReverbNation initiative Music For Good helps bands direct money to charity (Music)

A single noise complaint doesn't mean that they have to leave. Central Park is not and never will be silent.

by ammi on Durham Central Park Issues Statement About the Batalá Durham and Liberty Warehouse Apartments Noise Complaints (Music)

It sounds like one rotten ingredient spoiled the soup last night. I wish Batala Durham luck in obtaining a permit …

by ammi on Batalá Durham Gets Shut Down Again, Even as Liberty Warehouse Residents Offer Support (Music)

© 2017 Indy Week • 320 E. Chapel Hill St., Suite 200, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation