Mount Moriah's Merge debut, Miracle Temple, due Feb. 26 | Music
INDY Week's music blog

Archives | RSS

Friday, November 30, 2012

Mount Moriah's Merge debut, Miracle Temple, due Feb. 26

Posted by on Fri, Nov 30, 2012 at 9:00 AM


Just two months ago, the Indy reported that Mount Moriah—the smoldering folk-rock intersection of Bellafea's Heather McEntire and Horseback mastermind Jenks Miller—had signed to Durham-based indie power, Merge Records. A few weeks later, the label reissued the outfit's sterling 2011 debut on vinyl. And now, right on cue, comes news that Mount Moriah's sophomore effort and proper Merge debut will be released on Feb. 26. The record is called Miracle Temple. That's the barn-burning album art above.

In keeping with the band's momentum, Miracle Temple is a more up-tempo affair than its predecessor, filling some of the group's tension-inducing spaciousness without forsaking the music's emotional resonance. Cut at Nasheville's Beech House studio with Lambchop alum Mark Nevers, the album features contributions from the group's now firmly entrenched bassist, Casey Toll, and frequent drummer James Wallace, as well as Amy Ray and Daniel Hart. The later adds cutting violin that lends intriguing new depth to the arrangements.

Musically, Miracle Temple pushes Mount Moriah in a variety of directions. “Swannanoa” is powered by the kind of searing, strung-out riff that has come to define Miller’s metallic Horseback, adding menace to the bright harmonies of McEntire and Wallace. Opener “Younger Days” is more pop than anything the band has previously tried, bounding forth with a bouncing honky-tonk bass line and a wistful narrative that’s not far removed from the musings of Triangle ex-pat Tift Merritt. Best of all might be “Telling the Hour,” a Bellafea cover that has become a staple of the band’s live sets. Finally given a studio recording, the closing number bolsters Miller’s cathartic guitar lines with ominous strings and piano; it keys on one of McEntire’s most affecting vocal performances to date. The full track list is below:

Mount Moriah
Miracle Temple

1. Younger Days
2. Bright Light
3. Eureka Springs
4. I Built a Town
5. White Sands
6. Connecticut to Carolina
7. Rosemary
8. Swannanoa
9. Miracle Temple Holiness
10. Union Street Bridge
11. Those Girls
12. Telling the Hour

Tags: , , ,

Pin It


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in Music

Twitter Activity


I was proud to call him Uncle Willy cousin with the same birthday

by Blackfoot on Proud to call him Lumbee: Willie French Lowery, 1944-2012 (Music)

Most Read

No recently-read stories.

Visit the archives…

Most Recent Comments

I was proud to call him Uncle Willy cousin with the same birthday

by Blackfoot on Proud to call him Lumbee: Willie French Lowery, 1944-2012 (Music)

Revive is my people. If folks were offended by this, I can assure you it wasn't intentional. Revive Music was …

by Matthew Allen on Art of Cool Festival, Night One: Revive Big Band's Music-History Concert Leaves Out Women to an Absurd Degree (Music)

Small crowds like the one in Utrecht The Netherlands where I was with my 7 year young daughter may be …

by George Hendriks on The blues of Randall Bramblett's career-long cult status—and the promise of his new Devil Music (Music)

Wow! I am speechless. Skylar that was amazing! You are very talented. I love your vocal range and passion. Thank …

by Rita Romaine Rakestraw on Video Premiere: Phil Cook and Skylar Gudasz Nod to Alice Gerrard in New Tribute Clips (Music)

© 2017 Indy Week • 320 E. Chapel Hill St., Suite 200, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation