Sam M-B | Indy Week

Sam M-B 
Member since Dec 17, 2010

Recent Comments

Re: “Six Months After Becoming Durham’s Mayor, Steve Schewel Has a Lot to Say

Re: "even though no one on the current editorial staff worked here while he owned the paper":

Brian Howe (current Managing Arts and Culture Editor) was working at the Indy since at least 2006, hasn't he? (Or were his articles from that pre-2012 time period more as a freelancer than as a full employee?)

1 like, 2 dislikes
Posted by Sam M-B on 05/24/2018 at 10:43 AM

Re: “Though the Triangle Produces All Kinds of Books, Its Genre Writers Make the Most Noise. Here Are Some of Our Favorites of 2017.

If you are looking for a deeper dive into the Triangle's speculative fiction scene, check out this appendix:

http://bullspec.com/2017/12/31/the-year-in…

Posted by Sam M-B on 01/12/2018 at 11:46 AM

Re: “Bill Bell Endorses Farad Ali for Mayor of Durham

We are lucky to have had such a primary field of bright, excellent, visionary candidates for Mayor of Durham, and to have seen our city select these two remaining bright, excellent, visionary candidates for the position. Part of Mayor Bell's statement here is a bit confusing: is he saying something to the effect that it's too important to keep Schewel on the city council so we should not elect him mayor?

2 likes, 1 dislike
Posted by Sam M-B on 10/20/2017 at 12:15 PM

Re: “Fall into Books

Ack! And one more thing:

The Durham Literacy Center will host a special event with #1 New York Times bestselling author, Christina Baker Kline, on October 19th, 2017. Christina will talk about her bestselling book, Orphan Train, copies of which will be available for purchase at the event. Christina will discuss the true story of the 250,000 orphaned and abandoned children sent on trains from the East Coast to the Midwest as indentured servants and how she stumbled on this hidden piece of American history. The event will take place in the Main Gallery at 21c Museum Hotel located at 111 Corcoran St, Durham, NC 27701.

Posted by Sam M-B on 09/18/2017 at 4:13 PM

Re: “Fall into Books

A great selection of the literary highlights! Here's a couple handfuls more, from the speculative fiction neighborhood:

September 19 (Tuesday) 5:30 pm UNCs Center for the Study of the American South (410 E Franklin St) hosts Gabrielle Calbocoressi for the launch party for her new book of poems, Rocket Fantastic. Join us at the Love House & Hutchins Forum as we celebrate the publication of Gabrielle Calvocoressis new book of poetry, Rocket Fantastic. Calvocoressi teaches creative writing at UNC-Chapel Hill, and she recently assumed duties as poetry editor for Southern Cultures.

September 19 (Tuesday) 7 pm Durhams The Regulator Bookshop hosts Rebecca Gomez Farrell for Wings Unseen, with authors James Maxey and Mur Lafferty (whose non-fiction book I Should Be Writing based on her award-winning podcast was just published!) to make AN EVENING OF SPECULATIVE FICTION & FANTASY with Becca Gomez Farrell, Mur Lafferty, & James Maxey.

September 20 (Wednesday) 7 pm Flyleaf Books hosts Rebecca Gomez Farrell for Wings Unseen, along with Natania Barron (Wothwood) and Margaret S. McGraw (Lawless Lands).

September 23 (Saturday) Barnes & Noble Teen Fiction day with events across the Triangle. Among other appearances: Rebecca Gomez Farrell (Wings Unseen) and Tony Daniel (The Amber Arrow) at the Cary Barnes & Noble, and Scott Reintgen (Nyxia) at The Streets At Southpoint at 1 pm.

September 24 (Sunday) 2 pm Quail Ridge Books hosts Kristin Cashore Jane, Unlimited.

September 25 (Monday) 7 pm Quail Ridge Books hosts Kerri Maniscalco Hunting Prince Dracula and Rene Ahdieh Flame in the Mist.

September 28 (Thursday) 7 pm Flyleaf Books hosts Jessica Cluess and Scott Reintgen discuss A Poison Dark and Drowning and Nyxia, their new YA novels.

September 28 (Thursday) 7 pm Quail Ridge Books hosts Tui T. Sutherland Darkness of Dragons (Wings of Fire #10).

October 5 (Thurday) 7 pm Flyleaf Books hosts KL Pereira discusses her story collection A Dream Between Two Rivers: Stories of Liminality. A Dream Between Two Rivers: Stories of Liminality is both literary and speculative, both magically real and viscerally strange in the tradition of Angela Carter, Karen Russell, and Jorge Luis Borges. In this collection, KL Pereira weaves elements of fairy tale, folklore, and myth into the lives of women, children, and immigrants. Her lucid prose underscores the tenacity of those who are most vulnerable, who live on edges between neat and clear definitions of who they are and who they want to be. Free of normative ideas of gender, class, race, and sexuality, Pereira explores rebirth amidst darkness.

October 27-29 (Friday to Sunday) Military science fiction convention HonorCon 2017 at the Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown. Join us as the 5th year of HonorCon Celebrates The Royal Manticoran Navys Tenth year Anniversary! Guests include David Weber, Marko Kloos, and more.

November 12 (Sunday) 2 pm Quail Ridge Books hosts Marissa Meyer Renegades, Book #1.

And... one more, this time it's crime fiction from one of the South's hidden treasures:

November 9 (Monday) 7 pm The Regulator Bookshop hosts Eryk Pruitt, What We Reckon. The Regulator welcomes Eryk Pruitt, author of the Southern fiction crime thriller, What We Reckon, for a reading and book signing. In What We Reckon, Eryk Pruitt explores themes of identity, loyalty, and purpose with psycho-delic, transgressive, chicken-fried twists that read like Trainspotting cut with a couple grams of Helter Skelter.

1 like, 0 dislikes
Posted by Sam M-B on 09/18/2017 at 2:10 PM

Re: “Jonathan Lethem

This week's Indy Week has an interview with the author: http://www.indyweek.com/indyweek/jonathan-…

Posted by Sam M-B on 10/13/2016 at 10:06 AM

Re: “Where to Find Black-Owned Restaurants in The Triangle

Joe's Diner! Angier and Driver in East Durham: http://www.joesbigdog.com/

1 like, 0 dislikes
Posted by Sam M-B on 09/03/2016 at 7:44 PM

All Comments »

Extra Extra!

Make sure you're signed up so we can inbox you the latest.

  • Weekly Newsletter (Wednesday) - The stories in this week's issue
  • Weekly Events Newsletter - Our picks for your weekend and beyond

Login to choose
your subscriptions!

Favorite Places

  • None.
Find places »

Saved Events

  • Nada.
Find events »

Saved Stories

Find stories »

Custom Lists

  • Zip.
 

© 2018 Indy Week • 320 E. Chapel Hill St., Suite 200, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation