NC Symphony Quartet: Stop Speaking | Kings | Clubs & Concerts | Indy Week
This is a past event.

NC Symphony Quartet: Stop Speaking 

When: Thu., June 18, 9 p.m. 2015
Price: $11-$13


"Hello! My name is Vicki," the computer says during Andy Akiho's Stop Speaking, a piece for snare drum and electronics and the title work for this North Carolina Symphony Quartet concert. "My part was typed out word for word, then speech was enabled to allow me to live." The computer continues in this self-reflexive vein, discussing its existence and thanking the composer for selecting its slightly robotic, female voice before ultimately choosing silence. Meanwhile, the drummer—here, the symphony's Matthew Decker—responds with a catalog of snare drum effects and intricate patterns, mimicking the glitchy rhythms of the speech. The piece fizzes with playful glee. While it's not immediately obvious how Stop Speaking relates to Bach's Goldberg Variations, arranged for and played by string trio here, or Dohnanyi's Serenade for String Trio, the combination is certainly intriguing. 9 p.m., $11–$13, 14 W. Martin St., Raleigh, 919-833-1091, —Dan Ruccia



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Roll over stars and click to rate.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

© 2018 Indy Week • 320 E. Chapel Hill St., Suite 200, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation