Frances Mayes | Quail Ridge Books | Page: Readings & Signings | Indy Week
This is a past event.

Frances Mayes 

When: Wed., March 9, 7:30 p.m. 2011

Many know Frances Mayes from her best-selling novel Under the Tuscan Sun, which inspired the rather insipid movie of the same name. Instead of resting on her laurels, the poet and travel writer has crafted many other works about Italy, including the international bestseller Bella Tuscany. Fans of Mayes and Italy alike will be pleased with her new memoir, Every Day in Tuscany, a sort of chronicle of her present-day life in Cortona that highlights the simple pleasures of Italian living and eating (with recipes included). Mayes briefly removes her Italian rose-colored glasses when she finds herself threatened by residents after voicing her opinions on a local issue. Of course, she moves with Italian gusto, right back to describing scenic Tuscan landscapes. Mayes divides her time between Hillsborough and Italy; her ability to appreciate all things Italian never wavers, and she takes la dolce vita quite seriously, at home and abroad. The reading and signing begins at 7:30 p.m. —Lauren Shute

Enter your starting address (include city or postal code):

(directions will appear below map)

Nearby

Reviews/comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Roll over stars and click to rate.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

© 2017 Indy Week • 320 E. Chapel Hill St., Suite 200, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation