Dianne Sheehan Lancaster | Indy Week

Dianne Sheehan Lancaster 
Member since Mar 12, 2014

Recent Comments

Re: “Vote or stop complaining: Our endorsements for the Raleigh municipal elections

David Cox is the only one not supported by special interest groups- who are truly real estate developers. The developers only want to get the biggest bang for their buck without any thought for neighborhoods or the environment . Downtown is a different matter but in the burbs... We all moved here for a reason and we don't need 40 grocery stores in a 2 mile radius. Smart growth is the ticket. Put something in our neighborhood that increases our property values like a neat Lafayette Village type plaza, with posh shoppes and bistros for the residents to walk to and attract other people passing by to stop and visit. We honestly do not need one more 24-7 huge 50,000 store . Put it in South Raleigh where they have no food stores! John Odom gets his money from developers; he and his real estate buddies don't give a darn about the constituents. He needs to go. Sad to say but most republican candidates have sold out to developers. They don't care if we have an ugly city it's all about lining their pockets. Here is one life long and soon to be ex-republican who is not voting for anyone in my party this year! Sayanara!

19 likes, 2 dislikes
Posted by Dianne Sheehan Lancaster on 09/23/2015 at 9:47 PM

Re: “David Cox’s gas station vendetta

And we all love our true neighbor and friend David Cox far more than a Sheetz or the money that lines all of the other politician's pockets. Which is why we are electing him NOT John Odom.

3 likes, 0 dislikes
Posted by Dianne Sheehan Lancaster on 07/22/2015 at 12:46 PM

Re: “David Cox to run for Raleigh City Council

We need someone like David Cox, who cares about his neighbors has not forgotten the people he will be potentially be working for if elected!!! Unlike Odom who is beholden to the special interest groups - greedy developers. I am a Republican and will NOT be supporting John Odom! I also will not support anyone else in government in NC who supports the kind of development that is not wise or does more harm than good or is not inline with the UDO and does not protect homeowner's rights or tried to eliminate our protest petition rights as citizens. There will be many Republican that this loyal party person will NO longer support JUST because they are in my party.

14 likes, 1 dislike
Posted by Dianne Sheehan Lancaster on 07/14/2015 at 2:40 PM

Re: “N.C. homebuilders' lobby to citizens: Stop your (legal) bitching

Next they will try to pass a bill to prevent them from being voted out of office... Because that is what should happen to representatives who don't truly represent their constituents and protect their rights. I guess the lure of the money lining their pockets from special interest groups (developers) is too hard to resist !

2 likes, 0 dislikes
Posted by Dianne Sheehan Lancaster on 06/11/2015 at 9:42 AM

Re: “House bill would strip citizens of right to formally protest rezoning

This insane! They seem to be in the pocket of the developers sadly- and that is on both sides of the aisle. :( . We all need to write the representatives to vote NO on this bill! Write mall to vote NO: Gale.Adcock@ncleg.net,
John.Alexander@ncleg.net,
Marilyn.Avila@ncleg.net,
Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net,
Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net,
Dan.Blue@ncleg.net,
Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net,
Rosa.Gill@ncleg.net,
Duane.Hall@ncleg.net,
Yvonne.Holley@ncleg.net,
Darren.Jackson@ncleg.net,
"Rep. Chris Malone" ,
"Rep. Grier Martin" ,
Gary.Pendleton@ncleg.net,
Paul.Stam@ncleg.net,
Josh.Stein@ncleg.net
Thanks!

2 likes, 0 dislikes
Posted by Dianne Sheehan Lancaster on 03/12/2015 at 8:45 PM

Re: “Will Raleigh follow its plan in mediating neighborhood zoning fights?

I want to personally thank INDY for sharing this very important information with the public. It is a vital story that needs to reach many more folks who are unaware of the repercussions of development that does not follow the comprehensive plan. We all want progress and growth which benefits all residents and does not cause more harm than good. We all would love to shop at Publix if they select a great site for us; just not at the foot of a residential neighborhood or in the beautiful Falls Lake Corridor with our newly created green ways for us to enjoy. They just widened Falls of Neuse Road and this humongous shopping center was not even taken into consideration with that DOT project.; this will force the road to be widened yet again just upon completion. We the residents only ask our city planners truly honor the master plan and demonstrate some restraint by not encouraging unrestrained growth and corporate greed on the part of developers. And to everyone else- beware- your neighborhood could be next! -Dianne Lancaster

12 likes, 0 dislikes
Posted by Dianne Sheehan Lancaster on 03/12/2014 at 8:39 PM

Extra Extra!

Make sure you're signed up so we can inbox you the latest.

  • Weekly Newsletter (Wednesday) - The stories in this week's issue
  • Weekly Events Newsletter - Our picks for your weekend and beyond

Login to choose
your subscriptions!

Favorite Places

  • None.
Find places »

Saved Events

  • Nada.
Find events »

Saved Stories

Find stories »

Custom Lists

  • Zip.
 

© 2017 Indy Week • 320 E. Chapel Hill St., Suite 200, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation