China National Symphony Orchestra with Chuanyun Li, violin | Duke Campus: Page Auditorium | Clubs & Concerts | Indy Week
This is a past event.

China National Symphony Orchestra with Chuanyun Li, violin 

When: Thu., Feb. 7, 8 p.m. 2013
Price: $26-52

The 90-piece China National Symphony Orchestra presents a program of Xia Guan and Beethoven, with the lush "Butterfly Lovers' Violin Concerto" by Zhanhao He and Gang Chen at its center. The concerto emerged after the Cultural Revolution as one of the world's favorite 20th-century Chinese compositions; this recital features violin prodigy Chuanyun Li. If you've seen Ai Weiwei's activist art currently at the Hirshhorn Museum in Washington, D.C., you'll also be interested in the regime-approved first movement of Xia Guan's "Earth Requiem" for the victims of the 2008 Sichuan earthquake. Beethoven's Seventh Symphony is also on the bill. —Chris Vitiello


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Roll over stars and click to rate.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

© 2018 Indy Week • 320 E. Chapel Hill St., Suite 200, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation