Indy Week | Comment Archives | Stories | Special Issues | Last 30 Days

Narrow Search

Comment Archives: Stories: Special Issues: Last 30 Days

Re: “Hogwashed, Part 2: Environmental Advocates Say Hog Facilities’ Antiquated Waste-Disposal Systems Are Threatening the State’s Waterways

A response to Chris Tiffany's comment on math. It was a great thing to point out since the number of pounds per mile was inaccurate. I'm glad you also view the current hog farm's system as problematic, since you can smell the stink, even if it's not 314 times as bad as that mathematical error suggests. It would be really interesting to know at which phase the mistake was made. First, I could see the 110,000 pounds being true. I'm sure they had data for the amount of pigs in the region, and therefore they were doing calculations based on the actual square milage. After they were done with the calculations (which anyone could do without flying around and getting a pig head count) they could have either made up the flying story or flew to add a visual context for the non math minded person to better visualize the situation. In doing so they told the story that they flew a 10 mile radius instead of 10 square miles making it seem mathematically incorrect, but whether the numbers are wrong or the plot is inaccurate, we don't know. Second to your response about the fact that editors should check for math errors, I agree, but it could also be the case that the editor changed it from 110,000 pounds in a 10 mile radius to 110,000 pounds per square mile, thinking that it sounded better and also thinking that it was mathematically equivalent. Third and final thing, It could simply be as you assumed a simple mathematical error, but really the question becomes, does it change the situation? For me, I personally cannot visualize what an area would look like being exposed to 3500 pounds of pig waste per square mile per day vs 110,000. While numerically they are different for sure, the thing that really matters is how this impacts people and how much this environmental damage will cost us in the long run. The toxicity of these facitlities is not in question, just getting people to care about it is.

Posted by Aw Goody on 10/13/2017 at 1:34 AM

Re: “Denicia Montford Williams Wants to Make the Labor Movement a More Welcoming Place for LGBTQ People

Congratulations Denicia! I want to thank you for your hard work ethic and passion for others. This world could use a lot more of both from people regardless of their sexual orientation. As Vice President of the NC APRI I want to let you know how proud I am of your efforts in making a difference.

4 likes, 0 dislikes
Posted by waynebostick on 09/28/2017 at 9:37 AM

Re: “Fall into Books

Thanks for the nod, Sam...just a note: It's OCTOBER 9, not november...

Posted by Eryk Pruitt on 09/28/2017 at 9:23 AM
Posted by Amy Fletcher on 09/27/2017 at 10:00 AM

Re: “Fall into Books

Ack! And one more thing:

The Durham Literacy Center will host a special event with #1 New York Times bestselling author, Christina Baker Kline, on October 19th, 2017. Christina will talk about her bestselling book, Orphan Train, copies of which will be available for purchase at the event. Christina will discuss the true story of the 250,000 orphaned and abandoned children sent on trains from the East Coast to the Midwest as indentured servants and how she stumbled on this hidden piece of American history. The event will take place in the Main Gallery at 21c Museum Hotel located at 111 Corcoran St, Durham, NC 27701.

Posted by Sam M-B on 09/18/2017 at 4:13 PM

Re: “Fall into Books

A great selection of the literary highlights! Here's a couple handfuls more, from the speculative fiction neighborhood:

September 19 (Tuesday) 5:30 pm UNCs Center for the Study of the American South (410 E Franklin St) hosts Gabrielle Calbocoressi for the launch party for her new book of poems, Rocket Fantastic. Join us at the Love House & Hutchins Forum as we celebrate the publication of Gabrielle Calvocoressis new book of poetry, Rocket Fantastic. Calvocoressi teaches creative writing at UNC-Chapel Hill, and she recently assumed duties as poetry editor for Southern Cultures.

September 19 (Tuesday) 7 pm Durhams The Regulator Bookshop hosts Rebecca Gomez Farrell for Wings Unseen, with authors James Maxey and Mur Lafferty (whose non-fiction book I Should Be Writing based on her award-winning podcast was just published!) to make AN EVENING OF SPECULATIVE FICTION & FANTASY with Becca Gomez Farrell, Mur Lafferty, & James Maxey.

September 20 (Wednesday) 7 pm Flyleaf Books hosts Rebecca Gomez Farrell for Wings Unseen, along with Natania Barron (Wothwood) and Margaret S. McGraw (Lawless Lands).

September 23 (Saturday) Barnes & Noble Teen Fiction day with events across the Triangle. Among other appearances: Rebecca Gomez Farrell (Wings Unseen) and Tony Daniel (The Amber Arrow) at the Cary Barnes & Noble, and Scott Reintgen (Nyxia) at The Streets At Southpoint at 1 pm.

September 24 (Sunday) 2 pm Quail Ridge Books hosts Kristin Cashore Jane, Unlimited.

September 25 (Monday) 7 pm Quail Ridge Books hosts Kerri Maniscalco Hunting Prince Dracula and Rene Ahdieh Flame in the Mist.

September 28 (Thursday) 7 pm Flyleaf Books hosts Jessica Cluess and Scott Reintgen discuss A Poison Dark and Drowning and Nyxia, their new YA novels.

September 28 (Thursday) 7 pm Quail Ridge Books hosts Tui T. Sutherland Darkness of Dragons (Wings of Fire #10).

October 5 (Thurday) 7 pm Flyleaf Books hosts KL Pereira discusses her story collection A Dream Between Two Rivers: Stories of Liminality. A Dream Between Two Rivers: Stories of Liminality is both literary and speculative, both magically real and viscerally strange in the tradition of Angela Carter, Karen Russell, and Jorge Luis Borges. In this collection, KL Pereira weaves elements of fairy tale, folklore, and myth into the lives of women, children, and immigrants. Her lucid prose underscores the tenacity of those who are most vulnerable, who live on edges between neat and clear definitions of who they are and who they want to be. Free of normative ideas of gender, class, race, and sexuality, Pereira explores rebirth amidst darkness.

October 27-29 (Friday to Sunday) Military science fiction convention HonorCon 2017 at the Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown. Join us as the 5th year of HonorCon Celebrates The Royal Manticoran Navys Tenth year Anniversary! Guests include David Weber, Marko Kloos, and more.

November 12 (Sunday) 2 pm Quail Ridge Books hosts Marissa Meyer Renegades, Book #1.

And... one more, this time it's crime fiction from one of the South's hidden treasures:

November 9 (Monday) 7 pm The Regulator Bookshop hosts Eryk Pruitt, What We Reckon. The Regulator welcomes Eryk Pruitt, author of the Southern fiction crime thriller, What We Reckon, for a reading and book signing. In What We Reckon, Eryk Pruitt explores themes of identity, loyalty, and purpose with psycho-delic, transgressive, chicken-fried twists that read like Trainspotting cut with a couple grams of Helter Skelter.

1 like, 0 dislikes
Posted by Sam M-B on 09/18/2017 at 2:10 PM

Our Guides

© 2017 Indy Week • 320 E. Chapel Hill St., Suite 200, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation