Pin It
Raleigh duo The Rosebuds announces the tracklist and unveils the cover art for Life Like, its fourth full-length album on Merge Records.

The Rosebuds announce fourth full-length, Life Like 

click to enlarge Kelly Crisp and Ivan Howard - PHOTO COURTESY OF MERGE RECORDS

Merge Records will release Life Like, the fourth full-length album from Raleigh's The Rosebuds, on Tuesday, Oct. 7. The 10-track LP was written by Ivan Howard and Kelly Crisp between tours and recorded at home with help from locals including Bon Iver's Justin Vernon and Portastatic's Matt McCaughan (both played on last year's Night of the Furies) and Ashley Stove/ Bull City guitarist Jim Brantley.

Crisp's vocal presence in the band continues to move beyond harmonies. Her icy lead on one highlight "Another Way In" sits nicely against Howard's languid Southern motion. Life Like offers a partial return to the acoustic basis of 2005's Birds Make Good Neighbors (there's even a jangly wordless tune, which sounds like M. Ward working on an assembly line), but the electronic pulses and textures that helped the duo find new fans last year haven't been altogether dismissed. See photographer Tim Lytvinenko's preview of the record.

Like most records, this one comes with a cover and a track list:

click to enlarge 07.30musbriefsonline_rosebudscover.jpg

1. Life Like
2. Cape Fear
3. Border Guards
4. Bow to the Middle
5. Nice Fox
6. Another Way In Concordia Military
7. Club
8. Hello Darling
9. Black Hole
10. In the Backyard

According to The Rosebuds' booking Web site at Ground Control Touring, the band has only one date scheduled: Terminal 5 in New York City Saturday, July 26.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in Music Briefs

More by Grayson Haver Currin

Facebook Activity

Twitter Activity


sad and rad at the same time. tnx jordan.

by Jeremy Blair on Sadlack's and Berkeley: Two Raleigh dives will survive in one old spot (Music Briefs)

Hey yo QT when done with that recording LA Lakers need some help at point guard dog. Don't ever give …

by jOnej on UNC point guard Quentin Thomas recording with 9th Wonder (Music Briefs)

Latest videos from the INDY

© 2015 Indy Week • 201 W. Main St., Suite 101, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation