The Hot at Nights' ¡Try This! | Record Review | Indy Week
Pin It

The Hot at Nights' ¡Try This! 


A nine-minute, smoked-out cover of Nirvana's "In Bloom" is the immediate stand-out on the second album by academic/goofball jazz trio The Hot At Nights. At the three-and-a-half-minute mark, the Raleigh group's slippery take on the 1992 hit becomes nearly silent for a full five minutes. It climbs like the crescendo of the original, turning it into an extended groove.

¡Try This! improves upon the quirky ambitions of its predecessor, Nice Talk. That album contained several musical tics: their instruments, toward the end of a composition, would slam into one another, a jumble of jazz improvisation. Other times, effects were slathered over the jams, giving the song a psychedelic feel. But on ¡Try This!, The Hot At Nights have abandoned those tricks and are instead showing more confidence in expressing its discordant ideas without the assistance of production gimmicks.

Similar to time-signature tricksters The Dismemberment Plan, The Hot At Nights mix pop and jazz. Quirky Nintendo Wii music meets drum-and-bass skitters on the album opener "Try This," while "Phaseus" is neo-noir sax rock. There are moments of movie soundtrack music (the funhouse rise and fall of "I Enjoyed Here More")—and, sad but true, far-too-pleasant horn lilts à la John Tesh. "Planet Fitness" is a silly track that toys with background music heard in corporate chain stores, yet still finds a place for a crunchy '70s rock guitar riff.

What makes ¡Try This! so impressive is that the band has recast modern jazz to include shards of other genres. (That makes sense, since frontman Chris Boerner is also busy as the guitarist for The Foreign Exchange and working with various studio projects). ¡Try This! is an inviting title for this album, but a more on-the-nose name might be, "Try anything." That's certainly the group's M.O.

Label: Chris Boerner Music

Correction: The price for the Pour House show is $10–$12.

This article appeared in print with the headline "Treks and trials."

  • What makes ¡Try This! so impressive is that the band has recast modern jazz to include shards of other genres.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in Record Review

Twitter Activity

Most Recent Comments

Love it! All the songs are beautiful!

by Jon Champion on Record Review: The Return of The Veldt, The Shocking Fuzz of Your Electric Fur: The Drake Equation, Is Great (Record Review)

This release will be available Friday December 4th here:

Thanks! …

by Scott Phillips on Review: The electronic excellence of GNØER's Tethers Down (Record Review)

You should have let Currin write this. One of the best singers on earth and these were your observations? sounds …

by Remo on Record review: Jeanne Jolly's A Place to Run (Record Review)


© 2017 Indy Week • 201 W. Main St., Suite 101, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation