T0W3RS' Summertime | Record Review | Indy Week
Pin It

T0W3RS' Summertime 

Nearly four minutes of the 10 that comprise Summertime, the debut EP by Chapel Hill's T0W3RS, are a cover of "Summertime," Lonnie Walker's incandescent country tune about growing old and neurotic. Over a keyboard drone, cycles of noise and guitars that stretch and slice the melody of the original into irregular strands, Derek Torres handles the text faithfully, his voice finding an appropriate intersection between Isaac Brock and David Lowery. It would seem that an EP dominated and led by a reverent cover wouldn't merit much notice, but T0W3RS' choice here is as telling as it is promising. This strong song serves as an anchor for the band's willful clash of the traditional and modern, with deliberate, diligent guitar lines contrasting smartly with the kind of playful keys and skittering electronic drums that tug this tale of anxiety back into youthful mirth.

That feeling of exploration carries over into the EP's final three tracks, each of which are shorter than the first. For a minute, "Over & O'Ver (& Over AGAIN)" winds a plaintive entreaty from Torres through a web of effects and above simple threads of piano and drums. It exits in a spiral of distorted guitar that serrates the simple melody into jagged bits. This somehow serves as a fitting transition into "Sparrow, Don't Wait for All the Things in Youth," a cleverly garbled idea for electronic pop. The tape's other bookend—a forlorn acoustic builder named "Versailles"—appropriately spotlights the other aspect of T0W3RS with an honest-to-goodness ballad. Again, as the opener proves, somewhere between these poles, T0W3RS suggest a special, multivalent magic.

  • In the 10 minutes of their debut EP, Chapel Hill's T0W3RS suggest a special, multivalent magic. (Diggup Tapes)


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in Record Review

Twitter Activity

Most Recent Comments

Love it! All the songs are beautiful!

by Jon Champion on Record Review: The Return of The Veldt, The Shocking Fuzz of Your Electric Fur: The Drake Equation, Is Great (Record Review)

This release will be available Friday December 4th here:


Thanks! …

by Scott Phillips on Review: The electronic excellence of GNØER's Tethers Down (Record Review)

You should have let Currin write this. One of the best singers on earth and these were your observations? sounds …

by Remo on Record review: Jeanne Jolly's A Place to Run (Record Review)


© 2017 Indy Week • 201 W. Main St., Suite 101, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation