Superchunk's Clambakes Volume Four: Sur La Bouche-Live in Montreal 1993 | Record Review | Indy Week
Pin It

Superchunk's Clambakes Volume Four: Sur La Bouche-Live in Montreal 1993 

(Merge Records/ Clambake)

click to enlarge superchunk_albumart-1.gif

"You didn't realize you'd entered a weight-loss program when you came in here, did you?" Superchunk frontman Mac McCaughan asked an attentive Montreal nightclub crowd in 1993 during a marathon 80-minute gig captured on tape and presented as the fourth installment of the band's live release series, Clambakes. McCaughan was referring to the pogo dancing that the crowd brought to the band's riveting set that night, but the sentiment also speaks to Superchunk's overall electricity at the time.

On this cold March night in Montreal, Superchunk sounded as energized and pumped as they ever were: "Skip Steps 1 & 3" is set on never-hyper-enough as McCaughan's and Jim Wilbur's guitars brutalize each of the song's surges. The songs ride on waves of electric overload, with Laura Ballance and Jon Wurster's rhythm section popping each change, shoving a big, nasty exclamation point into the dense din. "From the Curve" is a mammoth rock song bursting at the seams, and "Punch Me Harder" is so buried in Wilbur's riffing that it sounds like a punk anthem that lights up and flames out in two minutes. McCaughan sounds almost hoarse as he shrieks out his lines. For the second encore, Superchunk builds into a wall of feedback to rev "Precision Auto." The locals gnash their teeth for more, and Superchunk delivers with "The Only Piece That You Get."

"Piece" closes the show, just as it closed On the Mouth, released only a month before by Matador. It was the last album Superchunk would release on a label other than its own, Merge. In a bit of foreshadowing, Montreal musician Howard Bilerman recorded the gig, and, more than a decade later, he served as the drummer on Funeral, The Arcade Fire's landmark debut on Merge. That album's success changed the business of Merge, pushing their numbers and influence higher than ever before.

Ultimately, this is a stunning document of Superchunk at a crucial time in its career and a crystalline early snapshot of its touring life. It's as solid—and a tad ragged—of a live recording as any rock band could want.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in Record Review

Twitter Activity

Most Recent Comments

Love it! All the songs are beautiful!

by Jon Champion on Record Review: The Return of The Veldt, The Shocking Fuzz of Your Electric Fur: The Drake Equation, Is Great (Record Review)

This release will be available Friday December 4th here:

Thanks! …

by Scott Phillips on Review: The electronic excellence of GNØER's Tethers Down (Record Review)

You should have let Currin write this. One of the best singers on earth and these were your observations? sounds …

by Remo on Record review: Jeanne Jolly's A Place to Run (Record Review)


© 2017 Indy Week • 201 W. Main St., Suite 101, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation