Statewide offices | On the Ballot | Indy Week
Pin It

Statewide offices 

April 17–May 3:
One-stop registration and voting
May 6, 6:30 a.m.–7:30 p.m.:
Primary voting

State Board of Elections: 919-733-7173 or 866-522-4723,

Click underlined candidate names to read available questionnaires. Questionnaires were not sent to candidates who do not face a challenger in the primary.

D = Democrat
R = Republican
NP = non-partisan
UNA = unaffiliated

Governor (Dem & Rep primaries)

Richard Moore D
Dennis Nielsen D
Bev Perdue D
Bill Graham R
Pat McCrory R
Robert F. (Bob) Orr R
E. Powers R
Fred Smith R

Lieutenant Governor
(Dem & Rep primaries)

Dan Besse D
Walter H. Dalton D
Hampton Dellinger D
Pat Smathers D
Timothy Cook R
Greg Dority R
Robert Pittenger R
Jim Snyder R

Council of State

Attorney General (no primary)

Roy Cooper D
Bob Crumley R

Superintendent of Public Instruction
(Dem & Rep primaries)

June St. Clair Atkinson D
Eddie Davis D
Joe Johnson R
Richard Morgan R
Eric H. Smith R

N.C. Supreme Court (1 seat) (no primary)

Robert H. (Bob) Edmunds, Jr NP
Suzanne Reynolds NP

N.C. Court of Appeals (5 seats/ 2 primaries)

Arrowood Seat (no primary)
John S. Arrowood NP
Robert N. (Bob) Hunter, Jr. NP
Martin Seat
John C Martin NP
McCullough Seat (no primary)
Cheri Beasley NP
Doug McCullough NP
Stephens Seat (no primary)
Dan Barrett NP
Linda Stephens NP
Wynn Seat (primary)
Jewel Ann Farlow NP
Dean R. Poirier NP
James A. (Jim) Wynn NP
Tyson Seat (primary)
Sam J. Ervin IV NP
Janet Pueschel NP
Kristin Ruth NP
John M. Tyson NP

Secretary of State (no primary)

Elaine F. Marshall D
Jack Sawyer R

Ag Commissioner (no primary)

Ronnie Ansley D
Steve Troxler R

Insurance Commissioner (Dem primary)

Wayne Goodwin D
David C. Smith D
John Odom R

Labor Commissioner (Dem primary)

Robin Anderson D
John C. Brooks D
Mary Fant Donnan D
Ty Richardson D
Cherie Berry R

Treasurer (Dem primary)

Janet Cowell D
Michael Weisel D
David Young D
Bill Daughtridge R

Auditor (Dem primary)

Fred Aikens D
Beth A. Wood D
Leslie Merritt R

General Assembly


District 29
Larry D. Hall D
District 30
Paul Luebke D
District 31
H M (Mickey) Michaux D
District 33 (no primary)
Dan Blue D
Paul F. Terrell III R
District 34 (no primary)
Grier Martin D
J.H. Ross R
District 35 (no primary)
Jennifer Weiss D
Eric Weaver R
District 36 (no primary)
Al Swanstrom D
Nelson Dollar R
District 37 (no primary)
Ed Ridpath D
Paul Stam R
District 38
Deborah K. Ross D
District 39
Linda Coleman D
District 40 (Dem primary)
Sam Hart Brewer D
Stanley Morse [withdrew] D
Marilyn Avila R
District 41 (no primary)
Ty Harrell D
Bryan Gossage R
District 50
Bill Faison D
District 54
Joe Hackney D
District 55
W.A. "Winkie" Wilkins D
District 56
Verla C. Insko D


District 14 (Dem primary)
Ann House Akland D
Vernon Malone D
Carol (Bennet) Dalenko R
District 15 (no primary)
Chris Mintz D
Neal Hunt R
District 16 (Dem primary)
Jack Nichols D
Mike Shea D
Josh Stein D
John M. Alexander, Jr. R
District 17
Richard Stevens R
District 18 (no primary)
Bob Atwater D
Roger Gerber R
District 20 (Dem primary)
Ryan O'Neal Echoles [withdrew] D
Floyd B. McKissick Jr. D
Kenneth R. (Ken) Chandler R
District 23 (Dem primary)
Moses Carey, Jr. D
Ellie Kinnaird D
Jon G. (Greg) Bass R
  • Candidates for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Council of State offices, and the General Assembly

Latest in On the Ballot


Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in On the Ballot

  • Chatham County candidates

    Chatham County candidates

    Candidates for Pittsboro mayor and town commissioner
    • Jul 22, 2009
  • Durham County candidates

    Durham County candidates

    Candidates for Durham mayor and city council
    • Jul 22, 2009
  • Orange County candidates

    Orange County candidates

    Candidates for Chapel Hill Mayor, Chapel Hill Town Council, Carrboro Mayor, Carrboro Board of Aldermen, Chapel Hill-Carrboro Board of Education, Hillsborough Mayor, and Hillsborough Town Commissioners
    • Jul 22, 2009
  • More »

Twitter Activity


With the council's inaction, in my situation, I would suggest voting gainst all incumbents. I think these seat-holders change infrequently …

by Otto.Ladensack on Durham County candidates (On the Ballot)

The incumbents don't help the average citizen. If you live in the county they control any chance you have of …

by Otto.Ladensack on Durham County candidates (On the Ballot)

Most Read

No recently-read stories.

Visit the archives…

© 2016 Indy Week • 201 W. Main St., Suite 101, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation