Record Review: No One Mind Makes a Sharp Debut Breakup Album | Record Review | Indy Week
Pin It

Record Review: No One Mind Makes a Sharp Debut Breakup Album 

No One Mind

(Third Uncle Records)

No One Mind

Breakup records come in all shapes and sizes, and the history of rock 'n' roll is littered with them. Rumours, Sea Change, Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space—each, in its own way, soundtracks the bitter interior states created by a newly deceased relationship. No One Mind's self-titled debut is a glorious collection of fractured, imaginative songs in this vein, straddling indie rock, psychedelia, noise, and pop with ease. It's a potent breakup record, though it doesn't appear that way on the surface.

The band originally convened after Missy Thangs, Ellis Anderson, and Noah Dehmer broke away acrimoniously from their previous group, Toddlers, which allegedly ended with one email. Sour feelings animate a lot of these songs; they feel confident and unaffected but ripple with unresolved tension. Opener "Folk Wagon" straps a krautrock bass line and angelic synths under Anderson's solemn, cryptic vocals, building slowly into a transcendent freak-out of a conclusion. No One Mind is great at building these sorts of sweeping, panoramic moments, but the band has additional songwriting modes. "Bad Attitude" dials down the furor in favor of Sunday-morning psych bliss, as does "Big Talking Man," which channels the unhurried, off-kilter pop sensibilities of Broadcast. These numbers are as grand as the noisier ones, a product of the chemistry among the band's members.

The overall production is solid, too. Thangs, who has recorded a number of Triangle bands over the years, engineered and mixed the album, and her exquisite attention to detail shows. Though many effects and odd sounds inhabit these songs, everything sounds crisp and distinct, busy but never complicated. You never feel trapped in a digital reverb castle or brickwalled guitars that give the illusion of loudness, mistakes that can sink otherwise good records. No One Mind has masterfully mined the shards of a breakup for an excellent first record, building something much more sturdy than the sum of its parts.

  • In the wake of one band splitting, another reconvened for a great new rock release.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in Record Review

Twitter Activity

Most Recent Comments

Love it! All the songs are beautiful!

by Jon Champion on Record Review: The Return of The Veldt, The Shocking Fuzz of Your Electric Fur: The Drake Equation, Is Great (Record Review)

This release will be available Friday December 4th here:

Thanks! …

by Scott Phillips on Review: The electronic excellence of GNØER's Tethers Down (Record Review)

You should have let Currin write this. One of the best singers on earth and these were your observations? sounds …

by Remo on Record review: Jeanne Jolly's A Place to Run (Record Review)


© 2017 Indy Week • 201 W. Main St., Suite 101, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation