Record review: Jack the Radio's Badlands | Record Review | Indy Week
Pin It

Record review: Jack the Radio's Badlands 


Duality has long been a theme for Raleigh's Jack the Radio. The band has spent, for instance, the past decade balancing and blending the lead vocals and songwriting contributions of college pals George Hage and A.C. Hill. On Badlands, its latest LP, the quintet creates a distinct two-part affair, right down to the vinyl sticker's artwork, which employs a space cowboy on one side and a gunslinger on the other. It's meant to delineate side one's expansive sonic palette from the more familiar roots rock of side two.

The first half's boundary pushing recalls Kings of Leon, another act that stretched a rather strict Southern sound with ambition on its third studio LP. But Jack the Radio manages to make the transition between styles and into songs ready for big spaces seem more natural. After a horn intro that conjures a spaghetti western showdown, "Bad Man" uses organ and keyboard to cast moody textures across dark verses and triumphant explosions of a memorable chant. With guitar fuzz, thick Moog funk and soulful background vocals that swirl into a psyched-out crawl, "Ain't So Bad" could be a lost track from any of The Black Keys' last three records.

On side two, Jack the Radio immediately reintroduces its melodic Southern anthems. The swamp-pop stomp of "My Way" kicks off with bluesy slide guitar and a gospel-like choir that includes Delta Rae's Elizabeth Hopkins. Punctuated by blasts from swinging horns, "City Slippin" crosses a rollicking bar band with straight Memphis soul. Hage's guitar solos add immediacy to the deliberate in-studio sound.

Serving as a dead-ringer for Sheryl Crow, Hopkins returns to duet with Hage on the lost-love ballad "Criminals," while American Aquarium's BJ Barham gets a vocal turn on the road-weary "Wayfared Warriors." He adds a gritty quiver to Hill's syrupy smoothness and Hage's husky baritone. "Hills" closes Badlands by reconciling the band's two sides, climaxing in a distorted storm of unlikely twang.

Sure, with a clunky lyric here or an uninspired instrumental passage there, the 12-song Badlands isn't perfect. "Wayfared Warriors" repurposes a cheesy pickup line in its first verse, while the coda of "The Runaway" slogs through riff repetition. But don't ignore the forest for the trees: Badlands is one of the finest big-time rock records to come from the area in recent years, an effort that seems poised for attention far beyond the band's previous local focus.

Label: Self-released


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in Record Review

Twitter Activity

Most Recent Comments

Love it! All the songs are beautiful!

by Jon Champion on Record Review: The Return of The Veldt, The Shocking Fuzz of Your Electric Fur: The Drake Equation, Is Great (Record Review)

This release will be available Friday December 4th here:

Thanks! …

by Scott Phillips on Review: The electronic excellence of GNØER's Tethers Down (Record Review)

You should have let Currin write this. One of the best singers on earth and these were your observations? sounds …

by Remo on Record review: Jeanne Jolly's A Place to Run (Record Review)


© 2017 Indy Week • 201 W. Main St., Suite 101, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation