Raleigh Council: Crowder crushes Van Dyk in “D”; Odom ousts Koopman in “B” | Election Results | Indy Week
Pin It
The Meeker Majority is history

Raleigh Council: Crowder crushes Van Dyk in “D”; Odom ousts Koopman in “B” 

The “Meeker Majority” is no more. Mayor Charles Meeker was re-elected, as expected, but if goes looking for four progressive City Council members to make a 5-3 majority, he’ll have trouble finding them now that District B Councilor Rodger Koopman’s not on hand. Koopman was beaten rather easily by former Councilor John Odom.

The Republican-over-Democrat result was helped by a big turnout in the District 9 (North Raleigh) school board election, won by the GOP-backed Deborah Prickett.

Koopman’s loss means the progressive majority that came together around such issues as higher impact fees on development — a majority that included Meeker, Russ Stephenson, Thomas Crowder, Nancy McFarlane and Koopman — is no more. Neither Mary-Ann Baldwin nor James West, both re-elected tonight (as were the others, Koopman excepted), fits the progressive mold. Newcomer Bonner Gaylord, elected to replace departing conservative Philip Isley in District E, ran with Isley’s blessing.

In the District D grudge match, Councilor Thomas Crowder won with nearly 70 percent of the vote over challenger Ted Van Dyk. Crowder was the neighborhoods’ candidate, and proved once again that District D — Southwest Raleigh — is a neighborhoods stronghold. Van Dyk had the real estate interests with him, plus West and Baldwin, and he ran a well-funded, thoroughly negative campaign.

It was a complete flop, leaving Crowder in a stronger position than ever on the Council.

In the at-large race, Baldwin ran first by attracting a lot of Republicans’ “other” votes (the lone GOP candidate, Champ Claris, finished a respectable third), even though she’s a Democrat. Russ Stephenson, who ran strongest on the Democratic side, finished a close second. (The top two were elected without the need for a runoff.) Democrat Lee Sartain was a distant fourth.

  • The Meeker Majority is history


Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in Election Results

More by Bob Geary

Latest videos from the INDY

Twitter Activity


It was a sad day indeed--and I regret that those of us against Amendment One were not able to get …

by beautdogs on On a dark day for N.C., Amendment 1 passes (Election Results)

I disagree that the Chapel Hill election revealed a 50/50 division. While the mayoral race as about 50/50, the council …

by marcoplos on Relieved and jubilant, Kleinschmidt basks in win (Election Results)

Most Read

No recently-read stories.

Visit the archives…

© 2015 Indy Week • 201 W. Main St., Suite 101, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation