Orquesta GarDel's Lo Que Tú Querías | Record Review | Indy Week
Pin It

Orquesta GarDel's Lo Que Tú Querías 


Last year, the Triangle's largest salsa orchestra, Orquesta GarDel, encountered a crossroads: produce their first CD, or else be consigned to history as another functional regional salsa band that never left a permanent mark. With this week's release of its debut EP, GarDel finally crosses over. Lo Que Tú Querías—aka "What You Wanted"—is a shot in the arm for local salsa, composed of four timely, personal songs that well up with hot dance energy and impeccable Latin flavor.

The EP is a musical hallmark, too; it contains the first original timba (contemporary Cuban salsa) written and recorded in North Carolina. Timba's dark harmonies, tricky breaks and evolved piano and horn lines are the dance-crazy stuff that now rules Havana's streets. Opener "Para El Mundo Entero," originally composed for the Shakori Hills Festival, adds retooled lyrics and a soulful vocal invocation by saxophonist Tim Smith. The title track closer is a standout; opening tender, it explodes into hip-gyrating timba breakdowns, with coros that borrow more than a spoonful of sugar from their Cuban antecedents.

Between those timba bookends, GarDel stacks two songs where music is medicine for pain, originals about daily life that speak to the Nuyorican tradition of salsa dura. "Esta Situación," featuring vocalist Jaime Roman, is a seemingly upbeat tune that tackles the frustrations and hardships of the recession. The other, "Gracias Te Doy," features vocalist Nelson Delgado coming to terms with the death of his mother in 2010. This cha-cha-chá surges with emotion as pianist/ composer Eric Hirsh pushes the rhythm hard, suggesting his work with hip-hop band The Beast.

Lo Que Tú Querías is a tapas-size dish heaped with homemade salsa that should appease appetites hungry for a high quality, first-rate studio recording of original Latin music made in North Carolina. If this momentum carries, it could be only the beginning for Orquesta GarDel.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in Record Review

Twitter Activity

Most Recent Comments

Love it! All the songs are beautiful!

by Jon Champion on Record Review: The Return of The Veldt, The Shocking Fuzz of Your Electric Fur: The Drake Equation, Is Great (Record Review)

This release will be available Friday December 4th here:


Thanks! …

by Scott Phillips on Review: The electronic excellence of GNØER's Tethers Down (Record Review)

You should have let Currin write this. One of the best singers on earth and these were your observations? sounds …

by Remo on Record review: Jeanne Jolly's A Place to Run (Record Review)


© 2017 Indy Week • 201 W. Main St., Suite 101, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation