Milagro Saints' Chance & Circumstance | Record Review | Indy Week
Pin It

Milagro Saints' Chance & Circumstance 

When it comes to genre signifiers, the word eclectic is often code for "jam band." And while Milagro Saints don't trade in the endless noodling and sometimes-gibberish lyrics of Phish or Widespread Panic, the songs on their latest album, Chance & Circumstance, still allow for expansion as the situation merits. If the mandolin or keys want a few more bars, there's space. And though structurally open-ended, Milagro Saints' modernized pop-Americana tunes are definitely about something; think the slickly produced storytelling of Wallflowers and Blues Traveler as a close cousin.

Familiar roots-music tropes abound: There's the town-specific ode to a girl, "Pennsylvania Rose," the late-night highway meditation shuffle, "Ghost," and the long-form closer "Other Side of the River," in which the river becomes the metaphor. "Morning Song" rides a good-times shuffle, while "These Things (About You)" opens with a zydeco bounce before leading into a hook that, well, brings you back.

With careful textures and strong melodies, the songs certainly stick on Chance & Circumstance, but the density of the production sometimes doesn't gel with the endemic meander of Milagro's frequent solos. Some songs could definitely use a trim—the piano solo in "Gonna Rain Again" and much of "Pennsylvania Rose" are prime candidates—though environmental call to action "Don't Give It Up" deserves its seven minutes. This activist epic is built on a masterfully solid groove. But what really sets "Don't Give It Up" apart hits a little after the fourth minute, with a surprising nod to Blood, Sweat & Tears' trip-pop masterpiece, "Spinning Wheel." It's an arresting moment, one of the few stops on an album of seemingly perpetual Americana jam.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in Record Review

Twitter Activity

Most Recent Comments

Love it! All the songs are beautiful!

by Jon Champion on Record Review: The Return of The Veldt, The Shocking Fuzz of Your Electric Fur: The Drake Equation, Is Great (Record Review)

This release will be available Friday December 4th here:

Thanks! …

by Scott Phillips on Review: The electronic excellence of GNØER's Tethers Down (Record Review)

You should have let Currin write this. One of the best singers on earth and these were your observations? sounds …

by Remo on Record review: Jeanne Jolly's A Place to Run (Record Review)


© 2017 Indy Week • 201 W. Main St., Suite 101, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation