Pin It

Literary 

LiteraryBy city and alphabetically by venue. For current readings, please see our weekly "Literary" calendar.

RALEIGH

BARNES & NOBLE CARY: Tue, Sep 26, 7:30 pm: David Menconi. Tue, Oct 10: Sarah Susanka. 760 SE Maynard Rd, Cary. 467-3866. Free.

BARNES & NOBLE RALEIGH: Thu, Oct 12, 4 pm: Erika Shearin Karres. Sat, Oct 14, 1 pm: John Kessel. Sun, Oct 15, 6 pm: Keith Flynn. Sat, Oct 28, 10:30 am: Raleigh Little Theatre Storytellers present Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark. 4325 Glenwood Ave, Raleigh. 782-0030. All free.

QUAIL RIDGE BOOKS: Sun, Sep 24, 4 pm: Sarah Dessen. Mon, Sep 25, 7:30 pm: Robert Inman. Wed, Sep 27, 7:30 pm: Catherine Clinton. Sat, Sep 30, 4 pm: Shannon Ravenel. Sun, Oct 1: Howard Owen and Karen Van Neste. Tue, Oct 3, 7 pm: Sally Buckner. Wed, Oct 4, 7:30 pm: William Tester. Thu, Oct 5, 7:30 pm: Margaret Rabb and Baron Wormser. Sat, Oct 7, 10 am: Kim Johnson. Sat, Oct 7, 3 pm: Authors of The Confederate Cookbook. Sun, Oct 8: William Mangum. Tue, Oct 10, 7:30 pm: Pam Durbin. Thu, Oct 12, 7:30 pm: Sarah Dessen. Sat, Oct 14: Sena Naslund. Mon, Oct 20, 7:30 pm: Bonnie Angelo. Sun, Oct 22, 3 pm: Jackie Ogburn. Thu, Oct 26, 7:30 pm: Tom Rankin. Wed, Nov 1, 7:30 pm: Jim Dean. Thu, Nov 2, 7:30 pm: Terry Kay. Fri, Nov 3, 7:30 pm: Susan Vreeland. Sat, Nov 4, 3 pm: Rod Gragg. Sun, Nov 5, 4 pm: Wesley Eure. Thu, Nov 9, 7:30 pm: Ira Block. Sun, Nov 12, 4 pm: Mark Bradley. Tue, Nov 14, 7:30: Armisted Maupin. Fri, Nov 17, 7:30 pm: Derrick Jensen. Sun, Nov 19, 4 pm: Ben and Karen Barker. Mon, Nov 27, 7:30 pm: Sarah Gordon. Thu, Nov 30, 7:30 pm: Bob Bateman, Lucinda MacKethan and John Balaban. Fri, Dec 1, 7:30 pm: Will and Deni McIntyre. Sun, Dec 3, 4 pm: John Logue. Thu, Dec 6, 7:30 pm: James Patterson. Fri, Dec 8, 7:30 pm: Robert Morgan. Sat, Dec 9: Kaye Gibbons. Sun, Dec 10, 4 pm: Fred Chappell. 3522 Wade Ave, Ridgewood Shopping Center, Raleigh. 828-1588. All free.


DURHAM

EAST CAMPUS COFFEEHOUSE AT DUKE UNIVERSITY: Alternate Thursdays: Blue Roach: The Spoken Word Series. Duke East Campus, Durham. 684-4069. Free.

REGULATOR BOOKSHOP: Mon, Sep 25, 7 pm: The Urban Hiker contributors. Wed, Sep 27, 7 pm: David Menconi. Thu, Sep 28, 7 pm: Shannon Ravenel. Sat, Sep 30, 7 pm: Alan Lightman. Tue, Oct 3, 7 pm: Michael McFee. Thu, Oct 5, 7 pm: Tim McLaurin. Wed, Oct 11, 7 pm: Pam Durban. Sat, Oct 14, 2 pm: Sarah Dessen. Tue, Oct 17, 7 pm: Joe Ashby Porter. Wed, Oct 18, 7 pm: Malachy McCourt. Sat, Oct 21, 7 pm: Jim Peterson. Wed, Oct 25, 7 pm: Robert Inman. Thu, Nov 2, 7 pm: Martin Winkler. Mon, Nov 13, 7 pm: Ben and Karen Barker. Thu, Nov 16, 7 pm: Judy Goldman. Fri, Nov 17, 7 pm: Patrick McGrath. Wed, Nov 29, 7 pm: William Cobb. Sat, Dec 2, 7 pm: John Logue and Gary McCallam. Fri, Dec 8, 7 pm: Fred Chappell. Mon, Dec 11, 7 pm: Robert Morgan. 720 Ninth St, Durham. 286-2700. All Free.


CHAPEL HILL

BULL'S HEAD BOOKSHOP: Tue, Sep 26, 2 pm: Wallace Kaufman. Wed, Sep 27, 2 pm: Sarah Dessen. Thu, Sep 28, 3:30 pm: Joanna Catherine Scott. Student Stores, UNC-Chapel Hill. 962-5060. All free.

CHAPEL HILL PUBLIC LIBRARY: Fri, Sep 22, 4 pm: Kenneth Broun. Fri, Oct 20, 4 pm: Michael McFee. Fri, Nov 10, 4 pm: Joy Kasson. Fri, Dec 15, 4 pm: Joanna Scott. 100 Library Dr, Chapel Hill. 968-2780. All free.

GREEN TARA GALLERY: Every Third Thursday, 7 pm: Art of Words, open mic. 241 S Elliott Rd, Chapel Hill. 932-6400. Mon-Sat 10 am-6 pm.

MCINTYRE'S FINE BOOKS & BOOKENDS: Tue, Sep 26, 7 pm: Dorothy Dunnett. Sat, Sep 30, 11 am: Hal Crowther. Sun, Oct 1, 3 pm: Alan Lightman. Sun, Oct 22, 2 pm: Shannon Ravenel. 2000 Fearrington Village Center, Pittsboro. 542-3030. All free.


Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in Fall Guide

Facebook Activity

Twitter Activity

Comments

Let's juxtapose this quote:

'A liberal is somebody who can understand anybody but the ones who can't understand the …

by MST on Hillsborough novelist Allan Gurganus on Moral Mondays and Local Souls, his first book in more than a decade (Fall Guide)

Writer Allan Gurganus is absolutely right to remark that taking Jesus and God out of Moral Monday protests would be …

by Dorothy on Hillsborough novelist Allan Gurganus on Moral Mondays and Local Souls, his first book in more than a decade (Fall Guide)

Most Read

© 2014 Indy Week • 201 W. Main St., Suite 101, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation