Jon Shain's Ordinary Cats | Record Review | Indy Week
Pin It

Jon Shain's Ordinary Cats 

The downside to instrumental mastery can be historical reverence. A longtime fixture on the Triangle scene, Jon Shain is a first-rate guitar picker. But he sometimes follows too closely in the path of the traditional acoustic blues and folk legends whose lessons he has learned so well. On Ordinary Cats, Shain's latest in a 14-year line of solo discs, he expertly echoes his predecessors on songs such as the wartime story "Soldier's Pay," the old-timey drinking tune "A Dram Lest We Get Dry" and the woozy-bluesy "Station Master." While Shain nails the form, these recordings feel like the voices of his forebears rather than his own.

But on much of Ordinary Cats, Shain pushes toward a more personal artistry. On "Level It Out," the album's finest song, he delivers a mission statement for equanimity, set to a steady and gentle melody that echoes the lyric's theme. Both the title track and "Cut Out Bin," the album's opening pair, find Shain in a reflective frame of mind: On the former, he sings to wistful, sprightly accompaniment about carefree days with childhood friends in New Jersey; the latter is an instantly appealing folk-pop number about the glory days of hanging out in the local record shop, buoyed by an engaging duet vocal from Lizzy Ross.

There's a similar twinge of longing in "You Cannot Hide Your Heart From the Band," an ode to an old friend (or flame?) who went on to some semblance of fame: "I hear your song on the radio these days ... the sound's the same but your voice has aged." If all this seems a bit nostalgic, it connects because Shain sells it with his singing. At his best, he sounds not like a distillation of bygone legends but rather like himself.

Label: Flyin' Records

This article appeared in print with the headline "Veteran volleys."

  • At his best, Shain sounds not like a distillation of bygone legends but rather like himself.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in Record Review

Twitter Activity

Most Recent Comments

Love it! All the songs are beautiful!

by Jon Champion on Record Review: The Return of The Veldt, The Shocking Fuzz of Your Electric Fur: The Drake Equation, Is Great (Record Review)

This release will be available Friday December 4th here:

Thanks! …

by Scott Phillips on Review: The electronic excellence of GNØER's Tethers Down (Record Review)

You should have let Currin write this. One of the best singers on earth and these were your observations? sounds …

by Remo on Record review: Jeanne Jolly's A Place to Run (Record Review)


© 2017 Indy Week • 201 W. Main St., Suite 101, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation