Goodbye, Titan's Real Life Awaits Us | Record Review | Indy Week
Pin It

Goodbye, Titan's Real Life Awaits Us 

As the adage goes, you should always put your best foot forward, meaning that the best way to make an impression is to immediately wow someone with your best qualities. In personal relationships, it works like a charm; in music, it can often be a trap. On their first full-length, Real Life Awaits Us, Raleigh post-rock colossus Goodbye, Titan falls right in.

The group's talent is never more apparent than on "Drop Everything," Real Life's first track. They come out blazing, ripping into a gusty instrumental where tangled leads race toward heaven as distortion burns in the background. It's a trick the band replicates often, both during the song and throughout the rest of the record. In fact, they do such a good job of building it up and tearing it down in these first 12 minutes, the rest of the album feels almost drab in comparison.

Sure, viewed as a whole, Real Life Awaits Us is a remarkably solid and absorbing hour of sound. The band's texturally rich themes ride patiently, building riffs to rewarding catharses that last for minutes at a time but rarely lose their momentum. They relish in the hyper-distorted excess of Explosions in the Sky, while also giving in to the endlessly looping delirium of Collections of Colonies of Bees. They achieve a bittersweet emotionality all their own.

The remainder has its moments: The lush repeated chords and stately piano of "Temples of Grey" provide a welcome breather late, and closer "Eden" builds from eerie quiet into an arena-ready display over 10 breathless minutes. But none of this beats the opening salvo. Because Goodbye, Titan's tones are a touch monochromatic, Real Life ends up feeling more long-winded than profound. For now, a solid first impression will have to do.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in Record Review

Twitter Activity

Most Recent Comments

Love it! All the songs are beautiful!

by Jon Champion on Record Review: The Return of The Veldt, The Shocking Fuzz of Your Electric Fur: The Drake Equation, Is Great (Record Review)

This release will be available Friday December 4th here:

Thanks! …

by Scott Phillips on Review: The electronic excellence of GNØER's Tethers Down (Record Review)

You should have let Currin write this. One of the best singers on earth and these were your observations? sounds …

by Remo on Record review: Jeanne Jolly's A Place to Run (Record Review)


© 2017 Indy Week • 201 W. Main St., Suite 101, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation