Dick's Picks 4006, Various Artists | Record Review | Indy Week
Pin It

Dick's Picks 4006, Various Artists 


On stage last week in Raleigh, Whatever Brains frontman Rich Ivey reminded the audience that he had copies of a fresh tape compilation he made. As with most every serious thing the prankster punk says, it was followed quickly by a sarcastic barb. "Three of our bands are on it," he scoffed, striking at the integrity of his own curatorial project. The tape—titled Dick's Picks 4006, in honor or jest of The Grateful Dead's exhaustive live series—gathers up Ivey's buddy musicians for an 11-song jaunt that's incredibly fun. Though Ivey's joke zeroed in on the musicians' closeness as a negative, that kinship turns out to be the collection's greatest strength.

Dick's Picks is limited to 300 copies and funded by contributions from the bands included, so there's absolutely no pressure: In the company of friends, this fleet of mostly fuzzed-out rock acts stretches out and does whatever it wants. Some offer one-off covers. Others take the opportunity to explore sounds that wouldn't quite fit on their own records. Dick's Picks, then, is a record where anything goes and most everything works.

It's well-balanced, too: Charlotte's Brain F≠ offer another slab of their brutal and brutally hooky garage punk, by way of a furious Minutemen cover. Such safe moves are countered by captivating left turns: Virginia's raucous Invisible Hand stretches out their classic rock tendencies with "Slow Burn," sprawling into psyched-out balladry complete with Queen-style harmonies. Spider Bags forgo their typical drunken jams for an instrumental that dips a meandering guitar line lifted from '70s soft rock in a mire of distortion, creating a vibe that's half-haunting, half-relaxing. Really good friends push one another forward, even as they have fun. On Dick's Picks, there's a great deal of both.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in Record Review

Twitter Activity

Most Recent Comments

Love it! All the songs are beautiful!

by Jon Champion on Record Review: The Return of The Veldt, The Shocking Fuzz of Your Electric Fur: The Drake Equation, Is Great (Record Review)

This release will be available Friday December 4th here:


Thanks! …

by Scott Phillips on Review: The electronic excellence of GNØER's Tethers Down (Record Review)

You should have let Currin write this. One of the best singers on earth and these were your observations? sounds …

by Remo on Record review: Jeanne Jolly's A Place to Run (Record Review)


© 2017 Indy Week • 201 W. Main St., Suite 101, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation