2007 Citizen Awards | Citizen Awards | Indy Week
Pin It

2007 Citizen Awards 

Honoring those whose acts of conscience and sacrifice benefit our community

There are times in an activist's life when he or she wants to paint a square on the wall with the words "Bang head here."

Activism and civic participation can be rewarding, but they are also time-consuming, thankless and even dangerous. Since 1983, the Indy's Citizen Awards have honored those rabblerousers—many mild-mannered, others outspoken, but all largely unsung—for their work. Some honorees have tackled overarching issues such as human rights, while others have focused on improving their communities—a smaller but no less important scale.

There is no limit to the number of issues in the Triangle worth the time and struggle. Please join the Indy in applauding the five award-winners for fighting the good fight. —Lisa Sorg

This year's winners

Committee to Save the Lakewood Y
More than a gym
The Haw River Assembly
Protecting a waterway for a quarter-century
El Futuro
Helping to heal minds, building confianza with Latinos
Stop Torture Now
Extraordinary rendition requires extraordinary activism
Al McSurely
Fighting racism—and winning—with real-life consequences

A tradition of giving thanks

click to enlarge 1.gif

2007 El Futuro, Stop Torture Now, Committee to Save the Lakewood Y, Haw River Assembly, Al McSurely

2006 Lanya Shapiro and Traction, the Pesticide Education Project, Margie Ellison, Chad Johnston and Andrew Pearson

2005 Bernice Wade and Barbara Stiles, Band Together, Code Pink, Chuck and Laura Richardson, Dr. Evelyn Schmidt, Thomas Savage

2004 Pete MacDowell, Peggy Misch, NCCU Civic Engagement Task Force, El Pueblo, Blaise Strenn

2003 Delores Bailey, Janet Colm, Earl Matlock, Marcia Owen, Lewis Pitts, SeeSaw Studio

2002 Ashley Forte, Ann Akland, Gene Galin, Caleb Southern, The Anti-Warriors

2001 Bill Padgett, Daniella Cook, DeWarren Langley, Gail Phares, Empowerment Inc. and Mark Chilton

2000 Bill Towe of Peace Action, Internationalist Books, The Hispanic Credit Union, Rural Advancement Foundation International (RAFI), Bertie Howard of the Africa News

1999 Alex Charns, Kamau and Mawiyah Kambon, Jo Sanders, Sidney Brodie, Louise Davis, Ken Rose and The Center for Death Penalty Litigation

1998 Rick Dove, Coalition for the Public Trust, Linda Wilson and Candles of Hope, Jimmy Leach, Myra Fuller and Rhondette Jones, Old West Durham Neighborhood Association

1997 Florence Siman-Zablah, N.C. Farmworkers' Project, Luis Alvarenga, Jovenes Lideres en Acción and Youth for Social Change, Lizette Cruz-Watko

1996 Helping Hands Center of Siler City, Chris Fitzsimon, Patrick O'Neill and Mary Rider, UNC Housekeepers Association, Triangle Residential Options for Substance Abusers (TROSA)

1995 Joe and Lucy Straley, Quinton Baker, Ron Mace, Cy King, Margaret Brown, Christine Strudwick

1994 Joe Neff, Falcon's Cry, Waltye Rasulala, Jim Baxter, Terry Grunwald, Sam Reed

1993 Roz Savitt, Northampton Citizens Against Pollution, Grace Higgs, Lynice Williams, Gretchen Durham

1992 Rev. Linda Jordan, Rev. Mahan Siler, Cash Michaels, Linda Mabry, Dietrich von Haugwitz, N.C. Community Land Trustees

1991 Sister Evelyn Mattern, Rev. Jim Lewis, Lisa Madry, Clay Thorp, Shirley McLain, Juanita McNeil, The Center for Peace Education

1990 John Bartlett, Rebecca Clark, Louise Kessel, Roy Gorman, Those Who Speak Out, NARAL-NC

1989 Jim Clark, Michael Bleyman, Dave Owens, Shiloh Coalition, Common Ground, Billie Rogers, Margaret Pollard

1988 Saladin Muhammad, Catherine Vicks, Julia Taylor, Center for Community Self-Help

1987 Phail Wynn Jr., Malcolm Potts, Center for Women's Economic Alternatives, Bill Holman, Jacques Menache

1986 Janet Hoyle, Mary Talbert, Mandy Carter, David Stanford, C.A.S.H. Volunteers

1985 Ann Shephard, Eddie Davis, The Lesbian and Gay Health Project, Rev. Wilson Lee, Melinda Lawrence

1984 Carolyn Allen, Lightning Brown, Bob Hall, Kenneth Duane Johnson, Joe Herzenberg, Jimmy Little, Gloria McCrae

1983 Carolina Interfaith Task Force on Central America, Deep River Citizens Coalition

  • Committee to Save the Lakewood Y, Haw River Assembly, El Futuro, Stop Torture Now, Al McSurely


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

INDY Week publishes all kinds of comments, but we don't publish everything.

  • Comments that are not contributing to the conversation will be removed.
  • Comments that include ad hominem attacks will also be removed.
  • Please do not copy and paste the full text of a press release.

Permitted HTML:
  • To create paragraphs in your comment, type <p> at the start of a paragraph and </p> at the end of each paragraph.
  • To create bold text, type <b>bolded text</b> (please note the closing tag, </b>).
  • To create italicized text, type <i>italicized text</i> (please note the closing tag, </i>).
  • Proper web addresses will automatically become links.

Latest in Citizen Awards

Twitter Activity


Congratulations Marcia! You are so deserving! It takes a lot of courage and commitment to stay with the work you …

by lsthomasson on Citizen Award: Judge Marcia Morey Wants to Make Juvenile Justice More Just (Citizen Awards)

I Am a woman in great need of a civil rights attorney. I came to the Independent a Few years …

by Melissa Felicelli on Marty Rosenbluth: Fighting for the rights of undocumented immigrants (Citizen Awards)

Most Read

No recently-read stories.

Visit the archives…

© 2016 Indy Week • 201 W. Main St., Suite 101, Durham, NC 27701 • phone 919-286-1972 • fax 919-286-4274
RSS Feeds | Powered by Foundation